When a User interacts with a SCORM Course the data is saved to the SCORM Cloud. The SCORM Cloud will send this data to HowNow, and that data will then show on the Dashboard. This includes Completion Status, Assessment results and time spent on the Course.

If a User has Completed the Course but the Dashboard doesn’t show this, here are some things to consider:

  • Has the User had the Completion Event? Or rather, has the User done what is required, as per the rules set by the SCORM provider, to actually ‘Complete’ the Course?

    Examples can be:

    • Reaching the final slide.

    • Watching the videos in full without skipping parts.

    • Passing the Assessment.

    • Exiting the Course in a certain way and not simply closing the tab of the Browser.

    • Opening the achieved Certificate before exiting the Course.

    If you’re unsure what the Completion Event for the Course is then you can contact the SCORM Course provider for the rules. If it is a SCORM Course that has been obtained through HowNow+ then contact HowNow Support for these rules.

  • Has the User reopened the Course since Completing it?

    If they open the Course again they will see the following warning telling them if they Proceed, it will reset their progress.

  • Did they have the Course open in multiple tabs?

    If the User Completes the SCORM Course but has it progressing in another tab, then it can affect the Completion recording. To get around this, they will need to close the tab they completed the SCORM Course in last.

  • Has the SCORM file been replaced in the Course?

    Depending on the Completion Tracking rules that are chosen when creating the SCORM Course on HowNow, changing the SCORM file on the Course can reset the User's Progress.

    If the rule is When all lessons are Complete, replacing a SCORM file will reset the progress of anyone who has started or Completed the Course.

    If the rule is When one lesson is Complete, any User who started or Completed the SCORM file that has been replaced, will have their progress reset.

If you’ve investigated those points and the progress still isn’t being tracked for your Users, then please contact Support, who can take a look into this for you.

You may also been interested in:

Did this answer your question?